Brawn: Is This Fried? Good!

Image

(me at the gym)

If we’re friends on social media, you have probably noticed that I’ve been hitting the gym…A LOT.  Part of the reason is that it’s addictive. I feel so healthy and youthful in the gym.  And I feel like I’m surrounded by other people who feel the same way, which reinforces the way that I feel.  I also feel very attractive.  I mean, what’s better than giving yourself the sexy eye while doing a bicep curl in slow motion – even if it is only a 15-lb dumbbell?

The other reason I’ve been pushing myself is because I want this to be a lifestyle change and not a fad.  I’m almost at the point where the gym is becoming a habit and I really want exercise to be a regular part of my life. 

But, before I finish, I must make a confession.  I’ve been hitting up this hot dog joint (http://www.fostersgrille.com/ totally awesome place!) about 2-3 times a week and getting a meal that’s about 2,300 calories – a delicious grilled hot dog, a full order of onion rings, and an extra thick milkshake.  Yup, it’s delish.  But I started thinking – “this seems a bit odd…working out this hard and then pigging out”. 

Image

 

(you totally just licked your lips)

I realized that I have to change my eating habits, too, which makes me sad. I love unhealthy stuff, especially fried food.  I thought it would be a good idea to learn more about the stuff I put in my body so I started researching about it and was overwhelmed with the amount of [confusing and contradictory]  information out there.  So, I’m making a pledge to not have any fried foods until I fully understand what it does to our bodies.

Here’s the question I’m trying to answer: Are fried foods healthy?

Notice I did not ask a leading question like, “how healthy are fried foods” or “at what point does fried food intake become unhealthy” which would assume that we already know that fried foods are healthy/unhealthy.  There’s a lot of information to break down for a slow guy like me so when I finally understand enough to post about it, you should be able to understand it well. 

What are your pain points for unhealthy foods?  Any other fried food fanatics? 

Leave a comment